Excellence in the Department of Education is recognized in many ways.

Best Doctors

Best Doctors in America® is widely regarded as the largest peer-reviewed evaluation of the medical profession in the nation, and many Department of Radiology faculty at UAMS and ACH are recognized as “best” Arkansas doctors in their field.

2015-16 Recipients

Edgardo Angtuaco, MD
Teresita Angtuaco, MD
Kedar Jambhekar, MD
Charles James, MD
James McDonald MD
Hemendra Shah, MD

Residents’ Award of Distinction (RAD Award)

Departmental award given annually by the residents to the faculty member who best exemplifies support of the residents, dedication to teaching, and excellence in the practice of radiology.

2015-2016 RAD Award Recipient

Dr. Rohan Samant

Charles Kevin Roberts, DO, Professionalism Award

The program has given annual “professionalism on call” awards to lower level and upper level residents and a faculty member who regularly takes call with the residents since 2004. The award was named and given posthumously to USAF Major Charles Kevin Roberts, DO, who would have been a member of the 2008 graduating class. In the short span from diagnosis until his death, Chuck demonstrated altruism, honor and integrity, and respect for others as he waged “war” with cancer. Chuck was a fine physician on his way to becoming an excellent radiologist. Most importantly, he was a good and loving man.

2015-2016 Recipients

Dr. Marwan Moussa (Lower level)

Dr. Jennifer McCarty (Upper level)

Dr. Ryan Fitzgerald (Faculty)

The Roentgen Resident/Fellow Research Award

National award given by RSNA to recognize and encourage residents and fellows who have played an active role in radiologic research during the past year.

2015-16 Dr. Manohar Kuruva

Resident-as-Teachers Award

Annual departmental award based on medical student evaluations of didactic lectures during radiology electives and given to the resident with the highest ratings.

2015-16 Dr. Marwan Moussa

Red Sash Award

The UAMS College of Medicine’s senior class selects individual faculty members they feel have had the most significant input into their medical education. These faculty are given scarlet sashes to wear over their academic regalia and acknowledged by the Dean during Honors Convocation.

2015-2016 Dr. Leah Braswell