Latest News

The Radiology Interest Group (RIG) at UAMS is a resource for all medical students. Email the RIG faculty adviser Roopa Ram, M.D. to get involved.



UAMS RadiologyUAMS RadiologyUAMS RadiologyUAMS Interventional RadiologyUAMS Radiology

Welcome to the UAMS Department of Radiology. Our Radiologists provide the most modern diagnostic imaging and interventional therapeutic services with the stated mission to improve health and patient care throughout Arkansas. We support inpatients in 3 major hospitals, extensive outpatient services, and Arkansas’ only adult and pediatric Level 1 Trauma Centers.

We invite you to explore our facilities, make an appointment and learn more about us.


2015 Match Results

We are proud to announce our incoming Radiology Residents beginning in 2016:

  • Shivang Desai (Dr. D.Y. Patil Medical College)Interns 2015
  • Blake Jacks (University of Arkansas)
  • Memoona Mian (Allama Iqbal Medical College)
  • Shobhit Sharma (Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore)
  • James Sorensen (Royal College Surgeons Ireland)
  • Harika Tirumani (S.V.S. Medical College)
  • Vibhor Wadhwa (Maulana Azad Medical College)
  • Joshua Eichhorn (University of Arkansas) NURAD
  • Gali Khadakova (University of Arkansas) DIRECT PATHWA

Red Sash Award

Congratulations to the 2014-2015 Red Sash Recipients Drs. Leah Braswell and James Ireland. The UAMS College of Medicine’s senior class selects individual faculty members they feel have had the most significant input into their medical education.

Interim Director

Dr. Marcus Kessler has recently agreed to assume the role of Interim Director of the Division of Nuclear Medicine.

Appointment to the (APCR) Board of Directors

Congratulations to Jacqueline Williams-Gaines who was recently appointed to the Association of Program Coordinators in Radiology (APCR) Board of Directors. Her term of service is 2015-2022, and during this time her duties will include being Chairperson of the Professional Development Committee and providing continuity between the annual meetings and representing the interests of APCR members.

AUR’s 2015 Stauffer Award

Dr. Linda Deloney was awarded AUR’s 2015 Stauffer Award for Best Education Paper. Her paper was chosen as the most outstanding Educational Paper published in Academic Radiology in 2014.

RADIOLOGY – Editor’s 2014 Recognition Award with DistinctionGlasier

Charles M. Glasier, M.D., was awarded the 2014 Editor’s Recognition Award with Distinction in recognition for his outstanding efforts as a reviewer for RADIOLOGY. This recognition is given to the top 10% of journal reviewers.

Best Doctors

Congratulations to the following UAMS Radiology physicians who were named to the 2015 “Best Doctors”® list:

  • Edgardo Angtuaco, MD, Teresita Angtuaco, MD, Kedar Jambhekar, MD, Charles James, MD, James McDonald MD, Hemendra Shah, MD


We are currently taking applications for a 2016 Body MRI Fellowship position. If you are interested in applying for our fellowship program, please visit Fellowship Application Process.


Visiting Professors

May 14, 2015 – Avneesh Chhabra, MBBS, M.D., Associate Professor, Department of Radiology and Orthopaedic Surgery, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX

March 27, 2015 – William T. Thorwarth, Jr., M.D., FACR, Chief Executive Officer of the American College of Radiology (ACR), Washington, DC

Sept 25, 2014 – Sanjeev Bhalla, M.D., Professor of Radiology and Chief of Cardiothoracic Imaging, Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO

Aug 28, 2014 – Phillip Tirman, M.D., Musculoskeletal MRI Director, Renaissance Imaging Medical Associates, Los Angeles, California